10 Songs That Take Me Back to My Childhood

I got my inspiration from the post from a fellow NZ blogger Christel, who posted about her top 10 songs that take her back to her youth.  You can read her top choices here and also check out the awesome blog she writes with her sister Camille here.

Since I’m a lot older than Christel, my “youth” is a lot bigger, which made it so much harder to narrow it down to just 10 choices, as my youth spans the 80’s, 90’s and if I’m pushing it, also the early 2000’s too.  With that in mind, I’m splitting my list.  This list is in no particular order, the songs made the list because they had the ability to bring back some form of memory.  First up, is my childhood…

Money for Nothing – Dire Straits

I loved the music video as a kid!  It was cartoon, they had a dog, the guy with the cigar kind of looked like a bad guy and the song was catchy.

Born in the USA – Bruce Springsteen (aka The Boss)

I was told by my Father many, many years ago that this was the first song I ever learnt all the words too.  Which I now know from being a parent, is a great step up from repeatedly singing Twinkle Twinkle or every single Wiggles song I can imagine Ivy singing when she learns how to sing.

Ring My Bell – Collette

I had a poster of Collette on my bedroom wall.  It was the 80’s, so she was wearing spandex bike pants that were spotty on one leg and stripey on the other, she was jumping in the air with a huge smile on her face, 80’s make up and hair completed the look.  I loved her.  I wanted to be her.  Sadly I never was.

The Loco-Motion – Kylie Minogue

Now I can’t remember if Kylie made it to my wall like Collette did, but I know I was a huge fan.  This music video was by far one of my favourites and 6 year old me with my mullet cut (thanks Mum and Dad) would bust out the dance moves with fury.  Plus that hat.  I wanted that hat.

Especially for You – Kylie Minogue & Jason Donovan

How romantic, real life sweethearts on-screen (RIP Charlene and Scott) and off-screen had a massive hit.  Unfortunately their love could not last, but it’s not like breaking up hurt either of their careers!

Step by Step – New Kids on the Block

Please tell me that as soon as you read the heading you carried the line on in your head?  Or even better, you belted it out loudly?  I sure did!  The original boy band.  So dreamy!

I Think We’re Alone Now – Tiffany

She was the ipitemy of cool on her album cover with her big hair, highlighted cheeks, denim jacket and her “I’m a big deal” smirk.  Man, I wanted to be called Tiffany.  Why did my parents name me Sarah?

Turn Back Time – Cher

Cher was wild and cool.  Look at what she’s wearing, look at all the boys, did she know you could see her bum?  How did she get the Navy ship for her video?  Seriously, did she know you could see her bum?

Manic Monday – The Bangles

I loved The Bangles, it was tough deciding between Manic Monday and Walk Like an Egyptian, sure I loved doing the Egyptian dance, but Manic Monday won out just because it’s such a pretty sounding song.

Eternal Flame – The Bangles

The Bangles get a second mention, I had a hard deciding between the above two songs, it’s was too hard deciding between three so Eternal Flame makes the cut too. Oh how I loved The Bangles!

Those are my top 10, who would make your list?

2 comments

What do you think?

